Song of the Ring

There’s a song that they sing (So I heard someone say)
In that land of no sorrow or strife.
That can only be sung by the few who would stay
By another for all of their life.

Many years have gone by since the money changed hands
For that beautiful bright band of gold.
But the man at the store didn’t know the true cost
Of that ring on the counter he sold.

That ring cost me a lifetime of being my own
It has cost me the freedom to roam
But I cherish the ring on my finger I’ve worn,
And I’ll wear till it’s time to go home.

Well that ring on my finger is still shining bright
‘Cause I know who I’m wearing it for
And I’ll tell you again through the darkest of night
It’ll be there for many years more

So take my hand in your hand be it weary and worn
Walk with me now, wherever I roam.
And I’ll sing of the ring on my finger I’ve worn,
And I’ll wear till it’s time to go home.

There’s a song that they sing (So I heard someone say)
In that land of no sorrow or strife.
That can only be sung by the few who would stay
By another for all of their life.

(Written for Gordon and Ollie Kallenburg’s 50th anniversary, January, 1993.  MIDI version here…)  http://www.noteflight.com/scores/view/0bc2fe8bdd938a3bf9e3dfedf0af8f26313020ba

About lelandking

Minister for the Conway Church of Christ
This entry was posted in Life, Serious. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

