Maybe In This Life

Got a song in my head, running ‘round my brain,
I hear the drums and the harmony, it’s even got a nice refrain.
But it’ll never get played on the radio.
Wiser guitars and bigger stars are gonna make the big show.

But that’s O.K. cause the truth is I’m gonna get to sing a new song.
And I won’t need a band or a Grammy for everyone to sing along
Maybe in this life we can only see shadows and pictures of reality
But one day we’re gonna see things the way they always wanted to be.

Saw a man on the corner, but me he could not see.
A cane in one hand and a can in the other, wantin’ money from me.
I wonder what he’s gonna do soon after he’s dead
If he gets to drink from the river of life, and gets a new set of eyes for his head.

Well he’s gonna see, yea, he’s gonna see, just as good as you and me,
And all those days he spent in darkness are going to be as bright as can be.
Maybe in this life we can only see shadows and pictures of reality
But one day we’re gonna see things the way they always wanted to be.

(Bridge)
And we’ll be free, yes we’re gonna be free, talk about your victory!
Gonna get it all back and a whole lot more than, more than just a memory.
Maybe in this life we can only see shadows and pictures of reality
But one day, one day in a better place, When we see him face to face
Then we’re gonna see things the way they always wanted to be.

But as for now there’s the issue, of a person named “me.”
In my mind I can see me acting a whole lot differently.
I can visualize me as being clean.
But when I look at the man in the mirror, man that’s a different scene.

So I’ll keep on putting one foot in front of the other, and try as I can to grow.
And I’ll thank the Lord that He’s so patient, cause, I look at me and I’m so slow.
Maybe in this life we can only see shadows and pictures of reality
But one day, one day in a better place, When I see him face to face,
Then I’m gonna see me just the way …
I always wanted to be.

(Wrote for friends whose daughter committed suicide, remembering that the true person inside might not be revealed until heaven.  Here is a midi version) http://www.noteflight.com/scores/view/5067984ca431a833c1638b4eed1d34db1522bab4

 

About lelandking

Minister for the Conway Church of Christ
This entry was posted in Serious, Spiritual. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

