‘Til Your Heart’s Content

Got a fence around the hole in my heart
To keep me from falling in.
It might be time to make a new start
Bbut I’m not sure where to begin.

I can’t complain, as long as I can arise then
I know my tune could be worse
I’m just wonderin’ over which horizon
Are the words to the second verse.

Even if no one knows my situation
I’m walkin’ the road with the only one

Who can love, who can love me till my heart’s content
Who can straighten out the places where I’m bent
Who can fill in all the holes where life has made a dent
Who can love me till my heart’s content.
Who can love me till my heart’s content.

Some folks have been down some less traveled roads
I wouldn’t want to tread
If I had the choice of bearing your load,
I’d be anywhere instead.

Wouldn’t it be nice if trouble and strife
Was like a program on my IBM.
Save it and close it, and then get on with life,
And never open that file again.

It’s a wonder anyone can take the next bend,
Walking all alone without any friend, any a friend…

Who can love, who can love you till your heart’s content
Who can straighten out all those places where you’re bent
Who can fill in all the holes where this old life has made a dent
Who can love, who can love you till your heart’s content.
Who can love, who can love you till your heart’s content

(Written about a friend whose husband died way too early in life)

 

About lelandking

Minister for the Conway Church of Christ
This entry was posted in Poems/FutureSongs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

