If I Had A Crown

If I had a crown would I wear it well
Would I keep it on though I went through hell
Would it be of silk with no barbs or burrs
If I had a crown would it look like yours?

If I had a cross would I lift it high
Would they laugh at me, would I really die
Could I shirk the nails and still find my gain
If I had a cross, would there be much pain?

If I had a call would I answer “no”
Wait a few more days, maybe then I’ll go
Would I bide my time though the world is lost
If I had a call would I count the cost?

If I had a cent would I hold on tight
Work to make a few more with all my might
When my brother holds out his empty cup
If I had a cent would I give it up?

If I had a cup would I drink it down
Knowing at the end certain joy is found
Looking past the dregs and beyond the gall
If I had a cup would I drink it all?

About lelandking

Minister for the Conway Church of Christ
This entry was posted in Poems/FutureSongs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

